20 days to go !

IMG_4688

Today we have twenty days to go to Comrades 2017, and by this time in three weeks it is all over. Can you guys believe it ? It feels like yesterday when we started the count down with 100 days to go and here we are, three weeks out.

In three weeks I will line up for the forth Comrades. Even that sounds unreal…

Five months of really hard work, commitment and preparation will play out on the 4th of June when around 20,000 athletes will line up in Durban for the 2017 Comrades Ultra Marathon. This year it is an up run between Durban and Pietermaritzburg, for me personally this is more of a challenge than the down run.

My preparation went well and I am happy with where I am and I know that I have the potential to maybe have my best Comrades Marathon ever. My training went well, my times are on point, actually better than I expected, and I am determined and mentally strong and focused.

The best part still is that I am again able to do this to support the Bible Society of South Africa, to support their Run4Bibles charity assisting in Bible distribution. When the going gets tough, that is when I focus on the cause and the reason why I am doing this and then things become manageable again. This year I am joined by Thérèse Doman and together we will run #Comrades4Bibles.

Remember, there is still time for you to support this amazing cause. Every R50 we raise will enable the Bible Society of South Africa to make available a FREE Bible to someone who really needs it most. This way we can change not only a single single life but potentially a whole family. You can find more details about this charity on my web page at www.myownjourney.co.za/comrades – this is where you will get more info about the charity itself and also the details on how to make your donation.

I want to take this opportunity also to wish all my friends the very very best for their Comrades marathon. I really hope that this Ultimate Human Race will give you all an ultimate experience and leave you with the ultimate feeling of achievement. Go out and do your best and remember to be awesome.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

